Dallas Police award Officer and Employee of the year

Dallas Police award Officer and Employee of the year

The Annual Friends of the Dallas Police Awards Banquet was held at the Hyatt Regency on November 6, 2017. Members of the department, both sworn and non-sworn, were honored for their dedication and commitment to the citizens of Dallas and the Dallas Police Department.

A sworn and non-sworn employee are selected as Bureau Employee of the Year from the Office of the Chief of Police and each of the five bureaus: Administrative, Investigations, Patrol, Strategic Deployment, and Support. The Officer of the Year and Non-Sworn Employee of the Year are selected from these bureau award winners.

 The James Taylor Non-Sworn Employee of the Year is Stephanie Mendoza

The James Taylor Non-Sworn Employee of the Year award is given in memory of Chief Helicopter Pilot and Reserve Officer James “Chuck” Taylor, who passed away in 1984 from a helicopter crash. This award recognizes a non-sworn employees of the department for their dedication to the police profession. Stephanie Mendoza is an Office Assistant currently assigned to the Auto Theft Unit. Stephanie Mendoza has served for 3 years.






 The John T. McCarthy Officer of the Year is Police Officer Joe King

The John T. McCarthy Officer of the Year Award is given in memory of John T. McCarthy, an officer who was murdered while investigating suspicious activity near White Rock Lake in 1981. This award commends an officer who has shown exemplary contributions to law enforcement. The nominees are submitted to the bureau commanders for consideration by supervisors throughout the department. The Officer of the Year is selected by the Chief of Police.  Officer of the year for 2017 is Police Officer Joe King. He is 20 year veteran of the Dallas Police Department. Officer King is currently assigned to the Administrative & Support Services.




Click here to view the award winners for every category.

Share this: